be_ixf;ym_202406 d_14; ct_50

GRMC Receives the 2024 Women’s Choice Award as one of America’s Best Hospitals for Obstetrics

December 15, 2023
3 minutes

Guadalupe Regional Medical Center has been named as one of America’s Best Hospitals for Obstetrics by the Women’s Choice Award®, America’s trusted referral source for the best in healthcare. The award signifies that GRMC is in the top 6% of 4,728 U.S. hospitals offering obstetrics.
The Women’s Choice Award educates all women on where to receive the best care and focuses its research on hospitals that provide the highest quality patient experience, especially important for potential labor complications.

“Having a baby is one of the most precious times in a woman’s life,” said Delia Passi founder and CEO of the Women’s Choice Award. “New moms have many choices to make when it comes to having their baby, and choosing where to deliver the baby is right up there with choosing the best doctor. We’ve made it easy for her to identify the best hospitals that are proven to deliver an outstanding experience.”

The methodology for the Best Hospitals for Obstetrics is unique in that it combines national accreditations, Hospital Consumer Assessment of Healthcare Providers and Systems (HCAHPS) survey results and hospital outcome scores with primary research about women’s healthcare
preferences. It is the only award recognizing excellence in obstetric services based on robust criteria that consider patient satisfaction and clinical excellence.

The Best Hospitals for Obstetrics award gives consideration to the following specific criteria (all are not required):

  • The percentage of patients reporting through the HCAHPS survey that they would definitely recommend the hospital
  • Patient safety ranking based on 13 Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services’ measures of infection and complication rates
  • Low rates of early elective deliveries (between 0-1%)
  • Baby-Friendly USA designation, a World Health Organization (WHO)/United Nations Children’s Fund (UNICEF) initiative to support best practices for breastfeeding education and counseling
  • Level III and Level IV neonatal intensive care (NICU) designations to provide comprehensive care for the most complex and critically ill newborns.

“Our award gives a woman the confidence that her choice of a hospital for her delivery will be the best in terms of quality care and patient safety for her and her baby. As the trend of women waiting longer to start their families continues, having the Women’s Choice Award seal is especially important for older moms who face increased risk and need a top hospital to provide care for her and her newborn” says Passi.

Guadalupe Regional Medical Center is one of 682 award recipients representing the hospitals that have met the highest standards for obstetrics across the U.S.

“Our commitment at the GRMC Birthing Center is to offer new mothers and families unparalleled, compassionate care throughout every stage of pregnancy. This dedication begins with our exceptionally skilled team,” states GRMC Director of Women’s Services Lauren Riggs, BSN, RNC-OB. “Apart from having board-certified OBGYNs, as well as a pediatric hospitalist and neonatologist on our staff, we proudly hold the designation of a Certified Texas Ten Step Hospital. The recognition of GRMC’s Birthing Center on a national level for obstetrics is a source of great honor for us. Our ongoing objective is to foster a family-centered environment that ensures a secure and enjoyable childbirth experience.”

More from GRMC